National Screen and Sound Archive of Wales preserves and celebrates the sound and moving image heritage of Wales, making it accessible to a wide range of users for enjoyment and learning. Its film collection reflects every aspect of the nation’s social, cultural and working life across the 20th century, giving a fascinating insight into Welsh filmmaking, both amateur and professional.
This film is part of Free
The Wye Country 1952
From source to estuary – the way of the Wye and the beautiful border country
From the collection of:
Filmmaker John Meredith and his son in law, Arnold Greenwood, follow the meandering Wye river from its source on Plynlimon in mid Wales to the Severn estuary near Chepstow, taking in the border-country villages and towns on their way. The only city, Hereford, sits well in this lovely landscape, and we can imagine the walkers’ twinge of regret as life beyond the Aust Ferry crossing beckons.
John W Meredith was a cine enthusiast who worked for mechanical engineering firm Thompson Brothers at Bradley Engineering Works, Bilston, Staffs. Together with TP colleagues, he came to north Wales – to Penygeulan farm, Llanymawddwy, on camping trips from 1929 onwards, making several films on these visits – including ‘Gwylliaid Cochion Mawddwy/Bandits of Mawddwy’. He also loved the border country, as this film testifies - its travelogue form enabling him to plot the route for the viewer with a map and a pointing finger. The commentary track that was made to accompany the film is sadly lost.